> Login
forgot your password?

Taylors College Auckland Foundation Year


Auckland is New Zealand’s largest city, the country’s commercial capital and rated one of the world’s most liveable cities. There is plenty going on in Auckland for those of you who want to understand something of the European, Maori, Pacific and Asian cultures that make up this vibrant, modern metropolis. Auckland’s incomparable setting – between two beautiful harbours – also offers endless opportunities to enjoy the great outdoors.

Taylors College Auckland is a five to 10 minute walk from Auckland’s central business district and also a 10 minute walk from The University of Auckland and AUT University – both partners of Taylors College. Taylors also partners with Massey University, which is located on Auckland’s North Shore, about 20 minutes by car or bus from campus.

New Zealand has a great educational tradition, and Taylors Auckland is part of that tradition. We have experienced and talented teachers who will help you achieve your academic potential and an excellent success rate for students transferring to university.

The Auckland Foundation Year Standard course
The Auckland Foundation Year Standard course would suit you if you've achieved at least average grades in English and relevant subjects. You should do this course if you don't meet the requirements for entry into undergraduate study at: The University of Auckland, AUT University or Massey University or other tertiary institutes OR if you've achieved at least average grades in English - a minimum overall - IELTS score of 5.0, with no band less than 5.0 or equivalent.
NZ$ 26,800 tuition fee 40 weeks

The Auckland Foundation Year Intensive course
The Intensive Programme is designed for students who have higher English and academic grades. Students who choose this option must cover the same amount of material as in the standard programme but in a shorter time frame. Apply for this course if you have not achieved the entry criteria for degree study at the University of Auckland, AUT University, Massey University or other tertiary institutes OR if you want to fast track to University - this program allows you to complete AFY over a shorter period OR if you have a higher English score - a minimum overall  IELTS score of 5.5, with no band less than 5.5 or equivalent.
NZ$ 26,800 tuition fee 31 weeks

The Certificate in Extended Programme
The Certificate in Extended Programme is designed to prepare you for academic study at foundation level. You are also provided with the opportunity to improve and develop your English language skills. Once you have successfully completed the Extended part of the programme, you will automatically progress to the Standard Foundation programme at the next intake.
NZ$ 37,600 tuition fee 60 weeks

Other Cost
NZ$ 300 Enrolment fee
NZ$ 300 – 400 Stationary and textbooks (approx)
NZ$ 310 Art kit
NZ$ 145 Airport transfer fee (one way)
NZ$ 19,000 Living costs per year (estimated)

Partner Universities

With successful completion of the Auckland Foundation Year you will be guaranteed entry into The University of Auckland, AUT University and Massey University (upon meeting university entry requirements). You may also apply for other universities in New Zealand, Australia, UK or the USA.

Auckland University of Technology (AUT)

AUT University traces its roots back to 1895 as the country’s leading Institute of Technology.  It earned its university status in 2000 in recognition of its national and international stature in creativity, innovation, scholarship, research, and excellence in teaching. Today, AUT University is the fastest growing university in New Zealand. AUT offers a wide selection of Health and Environmental Sciences degrees including a Physiotherapy major option, as well as Bachelors in Education, International Hospitality Management and International Tourism Management.

Faculties: Business & Law; Culture & Society; Design & Creative Technologies; Health & Environmental

AUT University has three campuses but most students will study in the central Auckland campus: Auckland (City); Manukau (South Auckland); North Shore (across the Auckland Harbour Bridge)

Massey University

Massey University has a long and proud tradition of academic and research excellence and has played a defining role in the development of New Zealand. Massey University is highly rated in design, visual arts, nursing, public health and veterinary science, agriculture and other applied biological sciences. It is ranked in the nation’s top three universities for engineering and technology, physics, sport science and statistics. Massey University offers a widely recognised and accredited Veterinary Science degree. It is only a five year degree, which is a year shorter than many other providers.

Three campuses in New Zealand
Massey is New Zealand's only multi-campus university with three well positioned campuses in the North Island: Auckland; Palmerston North and Wellington

Five Academic Colleges: Business (includes Aviation); Creative Arts (includes Design); Health (includes Nursing, Food Technology, Sport Science); Humanities and Social Sciences (includes Education, Psychology, Arts); Sciences (includes Vet Science, Engineering, Mathematics, Sciences)

The University of Auckland

Established in 1883, The University of Auckland is New Zealand’s top-ranked university for research and academic reputation. It is an international centre of learning and academic excellence, and is situated in the heart of Auckland. The University provides an exciting and stimulating environment for more than 40,000 students. The University of Auckland is a member of the Association of Pacific Rim Universities (which includes the University of California), and the Worldwide Universities Network. Membership of these groups is by invitation only and is limited to research-led institutions of international reputation across a broad range of disciplines.

Four campuses
The University’s eight faculties are located over four main campuses, although most students attend the city campus: City campus (Arts, Business, Creative Arts, Engineering, Law, Science); Grafton campus (Medicine and Nursing); Epsom Campus (Education) and the Tamaki campus (Postgraduate studies and research, population health)

Faculties: Arts; Business School; Education; Engineering; Law; Medical and Health Sciences; National Institute of Creative Arts and Industries (includes Architecture, Music, Performing Arts and Planning); Science

If you want information on direct entry into the universities, please contact us.

For more information, please contact StudyNewZealand EU <- click for e-mail